Pumpkin Soup—It’s what cool people eat!

P1010871I found out that January is NATIONAL SOUP MONTH. Whoohoo! I like soups. If you’ve read my bio in ABOUT, you know that Pumpkin Soup’s my favorite!

I first found this recipe for a Halloween dinner a few years ago, and thought it sounded weird…but fun! I tweaked a few ingredients after making it the first time…and now it’s one of my family’s favorites (definitely mine—I could eat this stuff every day if my husband would let me). It’s a great one for fall (or all year long if you’re like me).

So in honor of National Soup Month, here’s the recipe for you to try (if you like pumpkin and if you like bacon…that’s very important)

PUMPKIN SOUP

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion (chopped)
  • 2 (14-5 oz) cans chicken broth
  • 3 cups chopped potatoes (or more)
  • 1 can pumpkin (large size)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 package bacon
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped parsley
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Slice up your bacon into little chunks and cook for a while; add onion to the bacon and fry in the grease until the onion’s tender and the bacon’s crispy. In a large saucepan, boil your potatoes in the chicken broth until tender. Add milk, bacon and pumpkin (you might want a lid once you put the pumpkin in…because as it boils it gets like a witch’s brew and bubbles out, sometimes onto your skin making you scream in agony. I know this from personal experience)

When everything’s heated through, then puree it a bit to make it nice and smooth. I have one of those mixers I put right into the soup and stir around and it crushes everything. I call it magical. My oldest likes it a little chunkier than I do (but the rule in our family is: Whoever makes it, gets to do it THEIR way).

Lastly, spice it up with salt and pepper and add the sour cream to make it extremely delicious! Then serve up to your family and see it they like it or not.

I served this to my sister when she visited once. “You’ll love this,” I assured her.

She said, “But I don’t like pumpkin.”

My response: “That doesn’t matter. Do you like bacon?”

Picky Sister: “Not really.”

My answer: “Who are you? You can’t be related to me!”

If you do like pumpkin and bacon though…you really will LOVE this soup. This is one meal I make that pretty much all six of us like (which doesn’t happen very often). I usually double the recipe so I can freeze a bunch for lunches (for me!). If your kids are picky, just tell them Harry Potter ate this at Hogwarts!

Hope you like (and if you don’t, well, then you’re picky like my sister. I’m sorry)

Char

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin Soup—It’s what cool people eat!

  1. Are you talking about me here? I don’t remember ever being offered pumpkin soup. I’m sure I would have at least tried it.

  2. I don’t remember if it was you or another picky sister. Do you like pumpkin or bacon, or was it someone else that told me that? After grossing you out in college with Cajun chicken with the mushrooms and onions that you hated…I don’t want to assault your sensitive taste buds ever again. You might not make me cookie truffles again…and that would be a tragedy.

  3. Pingback: Happy Halloween and Nevada Day! | Joy in the Moments

  4. Pingback: Free Chat Thursday « Starla's Chat

Comments are closed.