Oysters and Man!

Can you guess where this quote is from?

“Yes, there is death in this business of whaling—a speechlessly quick chaotic bundling of a man into Eternity.  But what then?  Methinks we have hugely mistaken this matter of Life and Death.   Methinks that what they call my shadow here on earth is my true substance.  Methinks that in looking at things spiritual, we are too much like the oysters observing the sun through the water, and thinking that thick water the thinnest of air.

“Methinks my body is but the less of my better being.  In fact take my body who will, take it I say, it is not myself.” (p.33)

The word WHALING probably gave it away, didn’t it?  Yes, this is from Moby Dick by Melville.  Although not my favorite story ever (I’ll let my feelings on that be known later), this is a great quote!  Phrases like “bundling of a man into Eternity” and the oyster simile are amazing!

By the way, I’ve seen an oyster before and do not believe they have the ability to observe the sun through the water.  I don’t think they have eyes–even little microscopic ones.  Yet still, METHINKS this simile rocks!