40 thoughts on “Don’t be a Chump

  1. All signed up for your newsletter. I’d love to receive it–even if it was once a month! Looking forward to book three! Cute post, btw. You are a clever writer!

  2. My only experience with mailchimp is being on random, unrequested mailing lists (I’m thinking they are LinkedIn connections and these authors didn’t ask me unlike your gracious invitation). I have tried to unsubscribe and even though mailchimp tells me the unsubscribe was successful, I continue to get email blasts. Now, I don’t know where the fault lies – if it’s with MailChimp or with the author or what have you. Other than that, I hear positive things about the service. Have fun with it!

    • I’ve unsubscribed from commercial emails before too and still kept getting them. I didn’t notice who the email server was though. Hopefully this works. I keep testing it on my daughter’s email (she’s gone for another year or so and won’t mind the junk I’m giving her trying it out).

  3. Okay, I just went ape and signed up for it. Unfortunately, now I’m jumping up and down and dragging my knuckles on the floor. You’ve awakened my primitive side…

  4. What a completely engaging and endearing way to announce your newsletter. I’m signing up for sure! AND..I totally agree with your comment about technology being both a friend and a foe–Christy has had to help me along several times!

    • Haha, I just had this image of the 3 Little Monkeys: Hear no evil, See no evil, Speak no evil. I’m not sure which one I am, but I’m not the third, lol. Maybe the second? The blind leading the blind…

      Signing up, Char! One of the poetry blogs I follow switched at the start of the year and she’s been happy with it.

      • I think I would be the hear no evil monkey. Thanks for signing up. We’ll see what comes of this. I’m kind of slow at learning how to use things (and getting my book done–very slow)

  5. Great, I’ll go sign up right now. I’m surprised you can’t upload a mailing list in Mail Chimp. I really thought I did that before for a client. Weird, especially if you’re trying to transfer a mailing list from one mailing system to another.

    • Close to rolling out a new book…and by close I mean anywhere from 2 months to a year. Ha ha. I’m envious of people who have firm dates of their releases out. I’m not there yet.

  6. Hey Char, I signed up and look forward to receiving your newsletters. I’ve heard of Mail Chimp. You’ll have to let us know what you think after you’ve experienced it for a while.

  7. I haven’t really heard of anything like this, which probably shows my continuing lack of interest in most forms of social media. ;) I can barely keep up with blogging and my few Facebook friends! This sounds like an interesting and softer approach to marketing, so I’d love to hear how your experiences go with it.

  8. I just signed up and I’m still hoping for a chimp impression. I do a pretty good one too – it must be because I was bitten by a monkey at one point in my weird life. :)

    • Yikes! Maybe you have a bit of chimp in you now. You will have to post about the monkey bite. Not everyone can say that about themselves. You are among the distinguished elite.

Comments are closed.