Making Faces is Better than Chocolate!

MF blog tour banner

I’m addicted to Amy Harmon’s books as surely as I’m addicted to chocolate. Several things I love about Harmon’s books are:

  • they put across a simple, yet profound moral
  • her language is as rich and smooth as frosting over brownies, and
  • the characters always become my best friends.

Amy’s writing journey has been kind of like the Cinderella story. She started out unknown, but worked her fingers off to get her stories out there. Her humble beginnings of symbolically “scrubbing the floor” have been transformed into “glitzy balls and handsome princes” now. Her last book, A Different Blue, made it to the NY Times Bestseller list several weeks in a row. And Making Faces is following suit and making it’s FACE known to the world as well. Go Amy!

Synopsis:

Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She’d been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have…until he wasn’t beautiful anymore.

Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast, where we discover that there is a little beauty and a little beast in all of us.

My Review

Making Faces put me in an emotional upheaval as I got to know diverse characters:

  • Fern, who is mediocre and overlooked, yet yearns for the wrestling star at school to notice her
  • Ambrose Young, who is never overlooked and feels pressure from every angle of his life to succeed and do Herculean feats
  • Rita, a girl who never seems to discover who she is behind her beautiful face, and
  • Bailey, a cripple with Multiple Sclerosis who has a heart of gold.  

I came to love each of these people as if they were part of my circle of friends…or even family. Making Faces took tragedy and weaved a message of hope. It inspired me to look beyond what I see on the outside, and look within each person I meet to discover their true beauty. I love all of Amy’s books, and this one was no different. Here are some of my favorite quotes:

Ambrose Young had a voice fitting of the package it was encased in. It was smooth and deep and impossibly rich. If dark chocolate could sing it would sound like Ambrose Young.

(How can you not melt and know exactly how he sings after reading that? Bravo, Amy! That is the best description ever.)

I’ve often thought that beauty can be a deterrent to love….Because sometimes we fall in love with a face and not what’s behind it. (Fern’s father)

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Add to Goodreads and check out Amy’s Pinterest Page

Purchase at: Amazon / Amazon UK / Barnes & Noble / Smashwords / iTunes: COMING SOON

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

About Amy Harmon

amy-harmonAmy Harmon knew at an early age that writing was something she wanted to do, and she divided her time between writing songs and stories as she grew. Having grown up in the middle of wheat fields without a television, with only her books and her siblings to entertain her, she developed a strong sense of what made a good story. Amy Harmon has been a motivational speaker, a grade school teacher, a junior high teacher, a home school mom, and a member of the Grammy Award winning Saints Unified Voices Choir, directed by Gladys Knight. She released a Christian Blues CD in 2007 called “What I Know” – also available on Amazon and wherever digital music is sold. She has written five novels, Running Barefoot, Slow Dance in Purgatory, Prom Night in Purgatory, the New York Times Bestseller, A Different Blue and now, Making Faces.

Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter | Blog

Giveaway (OPEN INTERNATIONALLY) ♦ ♦ ♦ Rafflecopter Entry

This book really was better than chocolate; I am still savoring the aftertaste of Making Faces and craving more great books from Amy Harmon in the future. Hope you get the chance to enjoy it as much as I did. 

Char Signature

27 thoughts on “Making Faces is Better than Chocolate!

    • Glad to have introduced her to you, Taylor. Amy is amazing! I’ve loved all her books (like yours). My favorite of hers is still A Different Blue. That one just touched me deep, deep down. I reread it and still adore it. My daughter loves it best too.

  1. Hmm, that’s quite the lovely cover, isn’t it? Between that and the chocolate, what are you trying to do to us, Char? ;)

    By the way, I love Ms. Harmon’s author pic. Gorgeous! And so much more natural than anything I could pull off.

  2. It’s hard to believe anything is better than chocolate so I’ll have to check it out. I still have to read A Different Blue. First though, I’m going to have to find some chocolate for lunch.

    • Are you feeling better now? I’m assuming you found your chocolate stash. I hope you get to read A Different Blue or Making Faces. Blue was my favorite, but Making Faces was still extremely well written and had an amazing message. I just loved Blue’s character best. But Bailey in Making Faces was the coolest character ever (but in a different way). Are you confused yet?

      • It sounds like I’ll have to read both of them! I never did find chocolate but I’ll have to find some tonight. All this looking forward to Halloween is going to make me eat way too much of it. I guess I should save some for the trick-or-treaters though. :)

Comments are closed.